Meet the translator: Katja Tongucer, who translates TED Talks into German

Originally posted on TED Blog:

KatjaTED Talks are available in 102 languages, from Albanian to Vietnamese, thanks to the tireless work of our volunteer translators. So far, more than 10,000 volunteers have created upwards of 44,000 talk translations — and today, the TED Blog brings you a Q&A with one of them. Here, meet German translator Katja Tongucer.

1. Where do you live? And what do you do by day?

I am German, but have been living with my husband and my two daughters in Moscow, Russia, for almost four years now. We moved here for my husband’s job. Before I came to Moscow, I was working as a translator and translation coordinator for a small company in Germany. But after moving, I stopped working and focused on helping my children get familiar with the new environment. It was, and still is, a challenge.

2. What drew you to TED?

I first heard about…

View original 486 more words

About alicestockwellegan

Language and culture enthusiast from New York living across the pond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

